The lawnmower

My papa Hymie lived across the street
on a large lot –
a deep lawn ran to the street.
In the fall he ate with my grandma Lillie out back
in the Sukkah.

My papa kept a riding lawn mower in the carport
for maintaining the large lawn.
He added a pair of seats to the lawn mower.
A few neatly cut boards, foam cushions covered in terry cloth –
no doubt my grandma’s addition,
and flimsy plastic belts to secure us.

On Sundays my papa walked across the street to get my brother and me.
In his carport he helped us climb into the seats and fastened the seat belts.
Our legs hung down in the space to the side of my papa’s seat.

We rode around town on that lawn mower with my papa
to the Daitch’s, to the Rubnitz’s –
to visit my papa’s friends, and maybe to show my brother and me off.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment