In nature I found that

birds of a feather – really do flock together

during these pandemic days
when time feels somehow longer
languish
I’ve often felt there were more birds around
is this true?
or am I sitting a little longer, noticing a little longer?

right now the typical pigeon
just landed on the roof next door
and is off

our garden is a magnet for birds
a pair of cardinals visited this morning
as I put my shoes on to walk
wondered if they were inspecting the changes
Collins made

one afternoon
I watched wrens or sparrows
not sure which, small birds
checking out the space behind the porch speakers
birds have built nests behind there over the years
somehow on this afternoon they seemed closer

the most majestic of pandemic sightings was the heron
I’m a huge heron fan –
known to sit and watch one til it lifts off to a new locale
on this particular morning sitting at my desk
I noticed a flash of broad wings
and I sprang from my chair
and left through the back door
where I eyed the heron
on the neighbor’s roof
watched a few moments before I stepped
into the house to call for Collins
together we caught a few more moments
before it flew to a nearby tree and then away

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment